Blog

Sep
13
How Stories Control Our Economic Reality

HELP ME MAKE MORE VIDEOS: http://www.patreon.com/nerdwriter TUMBLR: http://thenerdwriter.tumblr.com TWITTER: https://twitter.com/TheeNerdwriter Email me here: thenerdwriter@gmail.com SOURCES AND FURTHER READING Nick Hanauer, "A report that analyzed every minimum-wage hike since 1938 should put a bunch of nonsense ideas to rest" (via Business Insider) 2016 http://www.businessinsider.com/minimum-wage-effect-on-jobs-2016-5 Drew Desilver, "5 Facts About The Minimum Wage" (via Pew Research Center) http://www.pewresearch.org/fact-tank/2015/07/23/5-facts-about-the-minimum-wage/ Molly Ball, "A Plutocrat's Case for Raising the Minimum Wage" (via The Atlantic) Feb 2016 http://www.theatlantic.com/magazine/archive/2016/01/a-plutocrats-case-for-raising-the-minimum-wage/419130/ David Johnson, "See the Minimum Wage in All 50 States" (via TIME) 2016 http://time.com/4274938/minimum-wage-state-map/ CBO, "The Distribution of Household Income and Federal Taxes, 2013" https://www.cbo.gov/sites/default/files/114th-congress-2015-2016/reports/51361-HouseholdIncomeFedTaxes_OneCol.pdf Blanca Torres, "A year in, ‘the sky is not falling’ from Seattle’s minimum-wage hike" (via The Seattle Times) 2016 http://www.seattletimes.com/business/economy/a-year-in-the-sky-is-not-falling-from-seattles-minimum-wage-hike/ Caroline Fairchild, "Minimum Wage Would Be $21.72 If It Kept Pace With Increases In Productivity: Study" (via The Huffington Post) 2013 http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2013/02/13/minimum-wage-productivity_n_2680639.html Lawrence Mishel, "The Wedges Between Productivity and Median Compensation Growth" (via the Economic Policy Institute) 2012 http://www.epi.org/publication/ib330-productivity-vs-compensation/ Matthew Yglesias, "The most important chart about the American economy you'll see this year" (via Vox) 2014 http://www.vox.com/xpress/2014/9/25/6843509/income-distribution-recoveries-pavlina-tcherneva